List of U.S. Newspapers

Europe Oceania Africa Asia North America Central America South America
Home > Michigan

Michigan Newspapers List

List of major newspapers in Michigan featuring news and latest information on local politics, events, business, sports, education, jobs, and more. See following table for 93 Michigan local newspapers, each with official name, city location and Internet website address. All find related online resources that may help you living in or moving to the state of Michigan.

  • Songaah.com: List of singers, albums, and songs featuring the state of Michigan. Check to see lyrics for all songs and artists related to Michigan.
  • Abbreviation Finder: What does MI stand for? In English, it stands for Michigan. Click to see list of all meanings of acronym MI.

Michigan Newspapers List

Michigan - State of the Great Lakes

Michigan is a state in the United States and is located in the north of the country. Michigan is especially known for the great vacation destinations on the big lakes and for the strong automotive industry.

A long coast and tranquil islands

Located on the Great Lakes, Michigan has the longest freshwater coast in the United States. Canada is in the north of the country and is only partially separated from Michigan by the lakes. The large lakes include Lake Michigan, Lake Huron, Upper Lake and Lake Erie.

The big cities in Michigan are Detroit and Grand Rapids. There are a lot of islands in the lakes, some of which are very famous. Mackinac Island is one of these islands. The island is part of a national park, the Mackinac National Park. This national park is the second national park in the United States and was founded in 1875. The island is famous for nature and the beautiful Victorian buildings. Cars are also prohibited on this island.

French explorers and cars - a story full of ups and downs

French explorer Étienne Brűlé was probably the first European to penetrate this region. In the British-American War of 1812, British troops occupied the area. At the end of the war, the Americans conquered the area and at the same time drove the Indians out of Michigan. After the Indian resettlement there was an economic boom in Michigan in the 1830s.

In the 20th century, a large automotive industry emerged, especially in Detroit. Throughout the 20th and 21st centuries, there were always crises in industry and the big cities like Detroit were badly affected.

The rural areas are less dependent on industry but more on tourism and agriculture.

Boats, climbing, horse riding and hiking - a wide range of adventures is ready

The Michigan landscape offers everything you can imagine. In addition to the beaches on the lakes, the water not only offers opportunities for relaxation. Michigan is the state with the most pleasure craft. Paddling and sailing are also popular activities for which the large expanses of water are ideal.

Newspapers Location Image Website
Alpena News Alpena, MI http://www.thealpenanews.com
Ann Arbor News Ann Arbor, MI http://www.mlive.com/aanews/
Antrim County News Bellaire, MI Antrim County News http://www.upnorthpub.com/acn.htm
Battle Creek Enquirer Battle Creek, MI Battle Creek Enquirer http://www.battlecreekenquirer.com/news/index.html
Bay City Times Bay City, MI Bay City Times http://www.mlive.com/bctimes/
Business Update Grand Rapids, MI http://www.businessupdate.com
Cadillac Evening News Cadillac, MI http://www.cadillacnews.com
Cheboygan Daily Tribune Cheboygan, MI http://www.cheboygannews.com
Clarion-Eccentric Rochester, MI http://www.hometownlife.com/news/default.asp
County Press Lapeer, MI http://www.countypress.com
County Press and Argus Howell, MI http://www.htnews.com
Crain's Detroit Business Detroit, MI http://www.crainsdetroit.com
Crawford County Avalanche Grayling, MI http://avalanche.townnews.com
Daily News Dowagiac, MI http://www.dowagiacnews.com
Daily Reporter Coldwater, MI http://www.thedailyreporter.com
Daily Star Niles , MI http://www.nilesstar.com
Daily Tribune Royal Oak, MI http://www.zwire.com/site/news.cfm?brd=989
Detroit Free Press Detroit, MI http://www.freep.com
Detroit News Detroit, MI http://www.detnews.com
Flint Journal Flint , MI http://www.mlive.com/fljournal/
Gaylord Herald Times Gaylord, MI http://www.gaylordheraldtimes.com
Gladwin County Record Gladwin, MI http://www.gladwinmi.com
Grand Haven Tribune Grand Haven, MI http://www.grandhaventribune.com
Grand Rapids Press Grand Rapids, MI http://www.mlive.com/grpress/
Grand Traverse Herald Traverse City, MI http://www.gtherald.com
Grosse Pointe News Grosse Pointe, MI http://www.grossepointenews.com
Holland Sentinel Holland, MI http://www.thehollandsentinel.net
Horizon Newspaper Galesburg, MI http://www.HorizonNewspaper.com
Houghton Lake Resorter Houghton Lake, MI http://www.houghtonlakeresorter.com
Ile Camera Grosse Ile, MI http://www.ilecamera.com
Iosco County News-Herald Tawas City, MI http://www.iosconews.com
Iron County Reporter Iron River, MI http://www.ironcountyreporter.com
Ironwood Daily Globe Ironwood, MI http://www.ironwooddailyglobe.com
Jackson Citizen Patriot Jackson, MI http://www.mlive.com/jacitpat/
Kalamazoo Gazette Kalamazoo, MI http://www.mlive.com/kzgazette/
Lansing State Journal Lansing, MI http://www.lansingstatejournal.com
Ludington Daily News Ludington, MI http://www.ludingtondailynews.com
Macomb Daily Macomb, MI http://www.zwire.com/site/news.asp?brd=988
Macomb Daily Mount Clemens, MI http://www.macombdaily.com
Metro Times Detroit, MI http://www.metrotimes.com======
Michigan Chronicle Detroit, MI http://www.michronicle.com
Midland Daily News Midland, MI http://www.ourmidland.com
Milan News Milan , MI http://www.milannews.com
Monroe Evening News Monroe, MI http://www.monroenews.com
Monroe Guardian Monroe, MI http://www.monroeguardian.com
Montmorency County Tribune Lewiston, MI http://www.nemichigan.com/tribune/
Muskegon Chronicle Muskegon, MI http://www.mlive.com/muchronicle/
Northern Express Traverse City, MI http://www.northernexpress.com
Observer & Eccentric Detroit, MI http://www.observer-eccentric.com
Observer & Eccentric Livonia, MI http://www.observer-eccentric.com
Observer Eccentric Birmingham, MI http://www.observer-eccentric.com/local/Birmingham/
Oceana's Herald-Journal Hart , MI http://www.oceanaheraldjournal.com
Penasee.com Wayland, MI http://www.penasee.com
Petoskey News-Review Petoskey, MI http://www.petoskeynews.com
Pioneer Times Vassar, MI http://www.pioneertimes.com
Presque Isle County Advance Rogers City, MI http://www.piadvance.com
Press and Guide Dearborn, MI http://www.pressandguide.com
Saginaw News Saginaw, MI http://www.mlive.com/sanews/
Saline Reporter Saline, MI http://www.salinereporter.com
Source/Advisor Newspaper Utica , MI http://www.sourcenewspapers.com
Southfield Eccentric Southfield, MI http://www.hometownlife.com/news/default.asp
Spinal Column Newsweekly Waterford, MI http://www.spinalcolumnonline.com
Straitsland Resorter Cheboygan, MI http://www.resorter.com
Straitsland Resorter Indian River, MI http://www.resorter.com
Sturgis Journal Sturgis, MI http://www.sturgisjournal.com
The Allegan County News Allegan, MI http://www.zwire.com/site/news.cfm?brd=8
The Current Norway, MI http://www.norwaycurrent.com
The Daily Mining Gazette Houghton, MI http://www.mininggazette.com
The Daily News Iron Mountain, MI http://www.ironmountaindailynews.com
The Daily News Greenville, MI http://www.thedailynews.cc
The Daily Press Escanaba, MI http://www.dailypress.net
The Daily Telegram Adrian, MI http://www.lenconnect.com
The Evening News Sault Sainte Marie, MI http://www.sooeveningnews.com
The Exponent Brooklyn, MI http://www.theexponent.com
The Herald-Palladium Saint Joseph, MI http://www.heraldpalladium.com
The Independent Dundee, MI http://www.dundeeonline.com
The Kalkaskian Kalkaska, MI http://www.upnorthpub.com/lk.htm
The Leelanau Enterprise Leland, MI http://www.leelanaunews.com
The Marlette Leader Marlette, MI http://www.marletteleader.com
The Mining Journal Marquette, MI http://www.miningjournal.net
The News Herald Southgate, MI http://www.thenewsherald.com
The Oakland Press Pontiac, MI http://www.theoaklandpress.com
The Oakland Press Oakland County, MI http://www.theoaklandpress.com
The Ontonagon Herald Ontonagon, MI http://www.ontonagonherald.com
The Romeo Observer Romeo , MI http://www.romeoobserver.com
The Times Herald Port Huron, MI http://www.thetimesherald.com
The Voice New Baltimore, MI http://www.voicenews.com
Times Indicator Fremont, MI http://www.timesindicator.com
Town Meeting Elk Rapids, MI http://www.upnorthpub.com/tm.htm
Traverse City Record-Eagle Cheboygan, MI http://www.record-eagle.com/index.htm
Traverse City Record-Eagle Traverse City, MI http://www.record-eagle.com
Tri-County Times Fenton, MI http://www.tctimes.com
Ypsilanti Courier Ypsilanti, MI http://www.ypsilanticourier.com
  • MI Municipalities: Alphabetical list of all cities and towns in Michigan. Check now for top 10 largest cities by population and land area. Also covers geographical map of Michigan.
  • TOPSCHOOLSINTHEUSA: Top-ranked schools by subject in Michigan. Check now for four-year public and private universities, two year community colleges and graduate schools as well as K12 schools within the state of Michigan.

Michigan is made up of two parts: the Lower Peninsula, where the main cities are located, and the Upper Peninsula, which is a nature lover's paradise. One of those places that looks like a picture frame (so beautiful) is Rocks Lakeshore, a national park in the American Lakes region, known for its beautiful scenery and for being a stronghold during the summer.

Hiking, visiting waterfalls, kayaking or boating are some of the options for outdoor activities. It is worth scheduling the trip during the summer, as the region is usually one of the coldest in the winter, since the destination borders Canada.

Michigan

Whether adventure vacation in the huge forests, water sports, golf, bike tours or mountaineering - the Great Lakes Region is always worth a trip. The seven states of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin as well as the Canadian province of Ontario line the shores of the great lakes. A huge region with its own character - both geologically, climatically and culturally.

The Great Lakes, of course, are the five Great Lakes in the north of the United States, the largest freshwater lakes in the world. But not only the water is exciting: in and around the lakes you will find thousands of islands, wide sandy beaches, many lighthouses and at 140 meters the highest freshwater sand dunes in the world, the Sleeping Bear Dunes.

The states around the Great Lakes offer beautiful landscapes. Huge forests, grass plains, swamps and savannas as well as a rich biodiversity with over 130 rare animal species. But there are also pulsating cities of millions, such as Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland and Minneapolis, as well as small sleepy towns that remind of the past. A lot had or started in this region: the Ford company had the first car produced on the assembly line in Detroit, the famous Route 66 begins in Chicago and the huge Mississippi River also springs from this region as a small river.

The seasons in the Great Lakes states are very pronounced: the winters are snowy and cold, the summers are warm to muggy and hot, and autumn transforms the forests into colorful landscapes, the Indian Summer. The months of May to October are particularly suitable for round trips, and spring is the ideal travel time for city trips.

Copyright 2020 List of U.S. Newspapers